It’s Only Clay

The Bemidji Community Art Center and the Bemidji State University Visual Arts Dept present the annual It’s Only Clay National Juried Ceramics Competition and Exhibition.

This annual National juried ceramics competition and exhibition is a collaboration sponsored by the BCAC and Bemidji State University. IOC features a lecture and workshop on the campus of Bemidji State University by artist a guest artist and a juried exhibition of functional ceramics by the Bemidji Community Art Center on display in November and December of each year.   Previous jurors include Guillermo Cuellar, Simon Levin, Richard Bresnahan, Linda Christianson, Jeff Oestreich, Robert Briscoe, Bill Gossman and Bob and Cheryl Husby.

Juried Exhibit at the Bemidji Community Art Center
The “Its Only Clay” exhibit is a juried competition focusing on, and dedicated to, functional clay vessels. Selected works will be a part of the exhibit at the BCAC for 6 weeks during the months of  November  and December.

Awards and Prizes

Prize money for 1st, 2nd and 3rd place winners equaling $1,600.00 and additional purchase awards for work going towards the Margaret Harlow Vessel Collection at BSU.

Lecture and Workshop

Each year the Art Center and BSU host an artist lecture for the community that is free and open to the public.  The visiting artist and juror also provides an instructional demonstration in the field of ceramics at the University.

Sponsors of Its Only Clay – include the BCAC, the BSU Department of Art and Design, the BSU Ceramics Club, the BSU Foundation and the Holiday Inn Express Bemidji.

Funding - IOC 2013 is also made possible, in part, by a grant from the Region 2 Arts Council through an appropriation from the Minnesota State Legislature with money from the State’s general fund, and by a grant from the Bemidji Area Arts Endowment, a component fund of the Northwest Minnesota Foundation.