It’s Only Clay – Awards

BEMIDJI COMMUNITY ART CENTER AWARDS -  Begining in 2008 the BCAC has offered prize money for First,  Second and Third Place awards for work juried into the annual IOC Clay Exhibit.  Juried by a select committee of artists the work is judged in 4 areas; function, form/aesthetic, craftsmanship and surface design.  The BCAC Placement Awards are made possible, in part, by a grant from the Region 2 Arts Council through funding from  the McKnight Foundation.

MARGARET H. HARLOW COLLECTION – Margaret Harlow graduated from Bemidji State Teachers’ College in 1936. After graduation, she left to pursue a career in the Women’s Army Corps, traveling throughout the world, retiring with 20 years of military service. She developed an interest in pottery while in London during the 1950’s. One of her last travels was a trip to the People’s Republic of China in 1978.

While living in California, Margaret was active in arts organizations. In 1973 she established the Margaret H. Harlow Ceramics Collection at Bemidji State University with the donation of  funding  and a collection of original ceramic works of art.  Annually Ms. Harlow donated additional funds and original ceramic works of art for this teaching collection.  Margaret died July 7, 2007, in California.

Selected ceramic works are displayed in hallway exhibition cases near the ceramics classroom on the ground floor of the Education Arts building. From time to time portions of the collection are exhibited in Bemidji State University’s Talley Gallery.   All Harlow Purchase Award pieces become a part of this permanent teaching and exhibit collection dedicated to functional ceramics at Bemidji State University.

2013 Harlow and Watermark Award

2012 Harlow and BCAC Awards

2011 Harlow and BCAC Awards

2010 Harlow and BCAC Awards

2009 Harlow Purchase and BCAC Awards

2008 Harlow Purchase Awards

2008 BCAC Award Winners

2007 IOC Exhibit