It’s Only Clay

2014 - 2nd Place Award "Teapot" by Anthony Millette

“Teapot” by Anthony Millette, 2014 2nd Place Award

Breakaway Bottles by Cyrus Swann - 2014 Harlow Purchase Award

“Breakaway Bottles” by Cyrus Swann – 2014 Harlow Purchase Award








The It’s Only Clay (IOC) exhibit is a juried ceramics competition focusing on, and dedicated to, functional clay vessels. Each submission for IOC is judged in four areas: function, form/aesthetic, craftsmanship, and surface design. Selected works will be a part of the exhibit at the Watermark for six weeks during the months of  November and December.

This annual event is a collaboration sponsored by Watermark and Bemidji State University Department of Technology Art and Design. IOC features a lecture and workshop on the campus of BSU, a guest artist, and a juried exhibition of functional ceramics by Watermark Art Center. Previous jurors include: Karin Kraemer, Andrea Leila Denecke, Guillermo Cuellar, Simon Levin, Richard Bresnahan, Linda Christianson, Jeff Oestreich, Robert Briscoe, Bill Gossman, and Bob and Cheryl Husby.

In 2015, we will be hosting our 13th annual It’s Only Clay event, featuring John (Butch) Holden as juror. A 2015 application can be found here. Awards for 1st, 2nd, 3rd place prizes equal $1,600. Purchase awards will be made for the BSU Margaret Harlow Collection. Application fee is $30 for 3 entries. Postmark deadline September 14, 2015. Please read the 2015 Prospectus for more guidelines on submitting for jury.

Sponsors of It’s Only Clay are the BSU Department of Technology, Art and Design, BSU Foundation, and First National Bank Bemidji.

It’s Only Clay is also made possible, in part, by a grant from the Region 2 Arts Council, through an appropriation by the Minnesota State Legislature, and Cultural Heritage Fund passed by the Minnesota voters on November 4th, 2008.Logo with Partnership

Legacy Logo ColorFinal