2013 IOC Awards

November 1st was the opening of the 11th Annual It’s Only Clay exhibit, featuring work by ceramic artist and 2013 juror, Andrea Leila Denecke. Thirty-four pieces from 23 artists representing 12 states were selected by Denecke back in September for this year’s show. Denecke then reviewed the work after the installation to choose the winners for this years awards. Placement awards were rated on: function, form/aesthetic, craftsmanship and surface design. The Margaret Harlow purchase awards were selected based on qualities to be a part of this permanent teaching collection at BSU. During the reception, placement Awards and BSU Harlow Collection Purchase Awards were announced.

Margaret Harlow Purchase Awards

Platter by Mark Johnson South Portland, ME

Platter by Mark Johnson
South Portland, ME

Untitled by Todd Burns Louisville, KY

Untitled by Todd Burns
Louisville, KY

2013 Placement Awards

Placement awards with prize money are awarded each year for 1st, 2nd and 3rd place.  This  year’s juror, Andrea Leila Denecke, also selected an Honorable Mention.

First Place Black Foot by Steven Schaeffer

Award 2nd Place

2nd Place

3rd Place Award Horizon Platter by JD Jorgenson

Honorable Mention Covered Jar David "Bo" Bedillion

Honorable Mention
Covered Jar
David “Bo” Bedillio

IOC 2013 is co-sponosred by Watermark Art Center and Bemidji State University. Support is provided by Holiday Inn Express – Bemidji and BSU Foundation. This activity is made possible, in part, by a grant from the Bemidji Area Arts Endowment, a component fund of the Northwest Minnesota Foundation and by a grant provided by the Region 2 Arts Council through an appropriation from the Minnesota State Legislature with money from the State’s General Fund.