On Display October 4 – December 21

The 15th annual It’s Only Clay (IOC) National Juried Ceramics Exhibit & Competition, juried by Ceramic Artist Marion Angelica will be on display October 4 – December 21, 2019.

In conjunction with Bemidji’s First Friday Artwalk, Watermark announced the award winners on the evening of October 4th.

It’s Only Clay focuses on functional ceramics, with each submission judged in the following areas: function, form/aesthetic, craftsmanship, and surface design. Each piece accepted into the exhibit will be eligible for first ($1,000), second ($700) and third ($300) place awards, as well as purchase awards to be included in the Margaret Harlow Vessel Collection, a teaching collection at Bemidji State University.

It’s Only Clay home page >>

More on Ceramic Artist & IOC Juror Marion Angelica >>

2019 It’s Only Clay Accepted Artists on display:

  • Joshua Freeman, Azusa, CA: Salt-fired stoneware
  • Haddie Hadachek, Brainard, MN: Stoneware Clay
  • Matthew Krousey, Harris, MN: Salt-fired Stoneware
  • John Holden, Bemidji, MN: Stoneware
  • Holly Noury, Brooklyn, NY: Wheel-thrown White Stoneware
  • Molly Uravitch, Minneapolis , MN: Porcelain, Cone Six Oxidation
  • John Shaw, Battle Lake, MN: Ceramics
  • John Morse, Ribera, NM: Hand-built Stoneware (oxidation)
  • Posey Bacopoulos, New York, NY: Majolica on Terracotta
  • Mike Egan, Roseville, MN: Wood-fired Stoneware
  • Mia Ishiguro Schaumburg, IL: Stoneware Clay, Glazed, Food-safe Decal Image
  • Jeff Burger, Bemidji, MN: Woodfired Stoneware
  • Andrea Leila Denecke, Scandia, MN: Soda-Fired Stoneware with Granite Inlay
  • Delores Fortuna, Galena, IL: Porcelain  
  • Brad Bachmeier, Fargo, ND: Ceramic with Copper


IOC 2019 is co-sponsored by Watermark Art Center and BSU Department of Technology Art & Design and BSU Foundation.

Special thanks to our sponsor, First National Bank Bemidji.