2009 It’s Only Clay featuring Juror – Richard Breshnahan

The Bemidji Community Art Center and the Bemidji State University Visual Arts Dept announce the 7th annual, It’s Only Clay National Juried Ceramics Competition and Exhibition.

This annual National juried ceramics competition and exhibition is a collaboration sponsored by the BCAC and Bemidji State University. IOC features a lecture and workshop on the campus of Bemidji State University by artist and potter Richard Bresnahan and a juried exhibition of functional ceramics by the Bemidji Community Art Center on exhibit in Nov. and Dec. 2009.   Previous jurors include Linda Christianson, Jeff Oestreich, Robert Briscoe, Bill Gossman and Bob and Cheryl Husby.

Workshop and lecture:  this years workshop and lecture will be once again on the campus of Bemidji State University.  The IOC Lecture will be on Tues Oct 13th in the Beaux Arts Ballroom from 6:30 to 7:30 pm.  Workshop dates are Tues Oct 13th from 9am to 3:30 and Wed, Oct 14th from 9am to 12 noon.  To register for the workshop fill out the Workshop Application form and send to the address listed.  Fee for this year’s workshop is $25.

In addition to IOC 2009 – The 2009 Community College Fine Arts Conference hosted by Hibbing Community College and Bemidji State University titled “The Nature of Process” will be held at Bemidji State University, on October 12, 13, 14. 2009.  This year’s conference is a combined effort with Bemidji State University’s “It’s Only Clay” Conference. The Clay Conference Keynote speaker and demonstrator is Richard Bresnahan.  Keynote speaker/presenter Judith Shea will discuss the processes she has mastered during her memorable career.

Juried Exhibit at the Bemidji Community Art Center
The “Its Only Clay” 2009 exhibit is a juried competition focusing on, and dedicated to, functional clay vessels. Selected works will be a part of the exhibit at the BCAC from November 6th to December 19th. Prize money for 1st, 2nd and 3rd place winners equaling $1,600.00 and additional purchase awards for work going towards the Margaret Harlow Vessel Collection at BSU.

  • Guidelines: for submissions are outlined in the It’s Only Clay 2009 IOC prospectus
  • Deadline for submissions: all entry forms must be complete and postmarked September, 5th 2009.
  • Application fee: $30.00 for 3 entries.
  • Exhibition Dates: November 6th through December 19th.
  • Opening Reception and Awards: November 6th 5 to 7 pm.

Awards – In 2009 there will be prize money for 1st place$800.00, 2nd place $500.00 and 3rd place $300.00 plus additional purchase awards will be made with work going towards the Margaret Harlow Vessel Collection at BSU .

2009 IOC Awards

Artists Featured in the 2009 IOC Exhibit

Hadi Abbas – Orlando, FL
Marion  Angelica – Minneapolis, MN
Michael Arnold – Grand Forks, ND
Jonathan Barnes – St. Petersburg, FL
Cody  Bartz – Bemidji, MN
Bo  Bedillion – Manhatten, KS
Bradley Benn – Edina, MN
Thomas Brewer – New Smyrna Beach, FL
Elaine  Buss – Edwardsville, IL
James Coquia – Flag Staff, AZ
Clay Cunningham – Council Bluffs,  IA
Michael Douglas – Grand Forks, ND
Jimmy  Eddings – Atchinson, KS
Laurie  Erdman – Arlington, VA
Delores Fortuna – Galena, IL
Tina  Gebhart – Berea, KY
Jack Heimerman – Flag Staff, AZ
Tom Jaszczak – Appomattox, VA
Mark Johnson – South Portland, ME
Mark Lambert – Anoka,  MN
Lenore  Lampi – Baltimore, MD
Nanette  Loeff Allen – Evanston, IL
Robert Long – Starkville, MS
Daryn Lowman – Virginia,  MN
Ben Maier – Traverse City, MI
Eileen  McDaniel – Wautoma, WI
Jon  McMillan – Rye, NY
Ted Neal  – Yorktown, IN
KyoungHwa Oh – Wichita Falls, TX
Kip O’Krongly – Minneapolis, MN
Wen Fen  Pan – Okemos, MI
Marcia Paul – Deephaven, MN
Crystal Pillsbury – Orlando, FL
Katherine  Sandnas –  Hibbing, MN
Luke Sheets – Ada, OH
Warren Smith – Florence, MA
Roberta  Steinhart – Marcell, MN
Tyler Thiessen – Becker, MN
Ai Yamamoto – Okemos, MI
Gwendolyn Yoppolo – Helena, MT

Sponsors of Its Only Clay – 2009 include the BCAC, the BSU Visual Arts Department, the Holiday Inn Express Bemidji, the BSU Ceramics Club and the BSU Foundation. Its Only Clay 2009 is also made possible, in part, by funding from the Region 2 Arts Council and the Minnesota State Legislature.

2009 IOC Awards